What You Find At the End of the Tunnel

Is it light? Is it clarity?

I had assumed that by the end of this year that I possess a better understanding of how the world around me works. But, with less than two weeks left in my grant, I find myself continually racking my brain trying to grasp what exactly a year’s worth of living in a Muslim fishing village has given me.

To be frank, I’m not sure.

The only clarity which I am certain that I have found from the past year is that the world is far more complex and nuanced than I ever began to realize. I have also discovered that I know far less today than I did when I arrived.

In the past weeks, I have found myself wishing that I could write a love letter to Terengganu and Malaysia and talk about how wonderful and beautifully challenging this year has been and how I have clarity about things I didn’t understand before and how I have learned and grown so much as a person.

But I won’t, because I just can’t.

Not because none of those things are true. Rather, I’m not sure how to accurately put those things into words.

It’s been a year, my friends.

 

Leave a comment